File Upload, Portal, JSF and not being surprised…

I’m writing a portlet that allows a user to modify certain LDAP attributes.  It’s a nice little solution (if I do say so myself), wrapping IBM’s PUMA framework with something a little more durable, a little more generic and a lot less IBM.

The customer would like the user to upload their own picture.

“Yeah, shouldn’t be a problem…” I say, recalling the File Upload control on Rational Application Developer’s JSF palette…famous last thoughts.

IBM, in their wisdom and glory, have shipped some JSF components that don’t work with their Portal solution.  They’re available for use in a Portal project, they just don’t work… (bonus points to me for looking it up in the documentation rather than bugging the local IBM on-site consultant).  I guess that makes sense…

This means a trip to Apache and a chance to try the Commons File Upload component (apparently it works with Portal…I won’t get into why I find this entire thing so hilarious).

Leave a Reply

