A Project of Problems

My friend and colleague Iwona and I were talking this afternoon about our current project. It’s a complex integration exercise, joining 4 very different systems while surfacing a new interface through Portal. Iwona is an excellent team member constructing a data model that is both durable and dynamic.

The conversation came around to how we’ve been tackling the problems as they come. Her preference would have been more upfront analysis and less refactoring. It came out that she believes we’ve been ‘designing the system to solve the next problem’.  I bristled at the suggestion….but only for a moment (and the moment’s gone)

I thought about it and realized that’s exactly what we’re doing and I don’t think I’d have it any other way. I’m not saying upfront analysis is a bad thing. Lightweight design meetings are a great way to start a project. They introduce everyone to the Domain, get lots of foundation knowledge on the table. I love that part of a project. I love getting to know a new Domain, form a common Domain language and figure out where the wins are. Conversations beyond that start returning diminished value.

Under a certain light, projects can be viewed as nothing more than a series of problems needing solved. Isn’t that why we got into this in the first place, to solve problems? I know that’s where the draw was on my 1983 Apple II clone, solving the riddles that made the bloody thing work (I was 12 and it the machine rarely worked without some coaxing…).

You often hear team members  describe a pre-production problem as “Murphy’s Law strikes again” and yeah, I guess that’s one way of looking at it. To me, it means a problem wasn’t ready to appear. Now I know that sounds a bit too, I don’t know, abstract or philosophical to have any meaning. What I mean to say is some problems are revealed only through the solving of others. You’ll never solve them all, you just need to solve enough to provide value to those who feel the problem’s pain the hardest.

So whether you spend the time designing the holes in which the fence post will be placed or drawing a rough idea and putting the shovel into the ground…there are rocks, they weigh a lot and it feels amazing once they’re out.

One thought on “A Project of Problems

  1. From the development home page of my current project’s wiki:

    “It is a mistake to try to look too far ahead. The chain of destiny can only be grasped one link at a time” – Sir Winston Churchill

Leave a Reply

